Saturday, April 16, 2011

Vote for the future,Vote for BN

10.45am: BALINGIAN: Movement for Change (MoCS) chairman Francis Siah visits Kampung Tellian Tengah polling station.

He reminds the Election Commission to abide by the rule not to allow campaigners within the voting vicinity.

He had earlier visited seven of the 27 polling stations in the Balingian constituency.

Balingian incumbent Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud, who is Sarawak chief minister, is contesting against PKR's Suriati Abdullah and his cousin Datuk Salleh Jafaruddin who is standing as an Independent candidate.

9.50am: Satok: PBB deputy president Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg and Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein go on a walkabout close to polling centre.

9.15am: Pending: Incumbent Violet Yong tells the media that she is happy with the turnout and the good weather, after voting here.

Election Officer Nasir Ahmad said as of 9am, 137 votes had been cast.

9.00am: Miri: Balloting here got off to a smooth and sunny start with SUPP’s trio of Tan Sri Dr George Chan, Datuk Lee Kim Shin and Andy Chia casting their ballots to defend their respective seats of Piasau, Senadin and Pujut.

Dr Chan, who is SUPP president and deputy chief minister 1, cast his ballot at SMK St Columba at 8.10am, Lee at SK Agama Majlis Islam at 8.45am and Chia at SMK Dato Permaisuri at 8am.

Voters are steadily moving into polling stations throughout this oil capital of Sarawak after a night of massive ceramah Friday, the final day of campaign in this hotly contested region.

8.50am: Satok: Since several high ranking state Barisan officials will be voting here, the media turnout is sizeable, from television stations to news wires and online media.

PKR candidate Ahmad Nazib Johari arrives shortly to cast his vote.

8.40am: Satok: Barisan Nasional incumbent and PBB deputy president Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg arrives to cast his vote at Dewan SK Merpati Jepang.

8.25am: Mukah: Most early birds are older folks who came out early before the weather gets too hot. Weather this morning looks fair.

8.25am: Sibu: Penang Chief Minister and DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng is greeting voters at the gates of SJK(C)Chung Hua where Datuk Seri Wong Soon Koh will be casting his vote.

With Lim is DAP candidate for Bawang Assan Alice Lau.

8.15am: Satok: There may not be flags of political parties near polling centres but cars with flags, mostly that of the Barisan Nasional surrounds the perimeter of the centres.

The line of voters is starting to build at SK Merpati Jepang. Located within old Kuching, villagers are mingling and eating from roadside food stalls.

There seems to be an equal number of male and female voters.

8.15am: Kota Sentosa: Less than 20 voters are queueing to cast their votes now at SMK DPAG

8.10am: Satok: Voting begins in one of Sarawak's smallest seats. Weather is cool and the ground is still wet from an early morning rain.

8.00am: All 1,749 polling centres in Sarawak open for people to cast their votes

KUCHING: Polling for Sarawak’s 10th state election started at 8am Saturday.

The 979,796 registered voters in the state will choose from 213 candidates to fill the 71 seats of the State Legislative Assembly.

A total of 1,749 polling centres located in schools, community halls, longhouses and multi-purpose halls have been set up. They will remain opened until 5pm.

Postal voting for 18,363 voters had been carried out earlier.

The Election Commission said the first official result of the polls is expected to be announced by 8pm and the last by 11pm. Delays would occur in the event of heavy rain, storms or flooding.

The highest number of voters in this election is located in the Pending (N10) constituency which has 29,488 voters.

The smallest number of voters is in Rumah TK Pa’ Berang under the Ba’Kelalan seat with 20 people.

A total of 27 helicopters and two fixed-wing airplanes would be used to facilitate the election process.

Barisan Nasional is facing straight fights in 27 seats, three-cornered fights in 23, four-cornered in 17 and five-way contest in two, with two more facing six-cornered fight.

Opposing Barisan Nasional are PKR in 49 seats, DAP (15), PAS (5), SNAP (26), Parti Cinta Malaysia (6 ) and 41 independent candidates.

No comments: